oratoryfluff's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New editions

An update on our household.. about a week ago tragedy struck our family. Gerry the gerbil finally passed. He had not been well for a few weeks now, and he was 3..a ripe old age for a gerbil. My oldest son took it rather hard, and I promised him that we would not keep an empty cage laying about.. we planned a trip to the pet store for the next day to buy a pair of gerbils this time.
However when we arrived there were no gerbils. I was looking at the other small pets: mice, hamsters, etc when the salesman pipes up "Well, we do have these guys for adoption...we've been unable to sell them for 4 months now,and we're desperate to place them in a good home." 2 albino guinea pigs. Now I adore guinea pigs..I had them as pets as a child and they are such calm and loving animals. But we already have so many animals, and this would mean a big cage. I didn't know where we would even put a guinea pig cage. But alas my dad started in (he had come with us) about what wonerful pets they are, and reminding me how much I adored mine. Not to mention the boys were already bouncing up and down withe pleading looks on their little faces. yeah yeah... my resistance was melting. Not that I had that much to begin with.. I am such a pushover when it comes to animals needing homes.

So home came the two male guinea pigs...dubbed Jackie and Chan by the boys. We've had to put them in seperate cages due to some dominance issues, but I have never seen children become so attached to animals so quickly. Guinea pigs really do make ideal small child pets. They are calm, rarely bite, and love attention. As a matter of fact, Doug and I have become pretty attached as well.

We needed more animals like we needed a hole in the head..but they are part of the family now. Maybe we should hang a shingle out front inscribed with "Family Zoo".

7:05 p.m. - 2004-11-25

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

panther
mytwocents
astralounge
ex-machina
unequivocal