oratoryfluff's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Few Words for Georgie...

I haven't been watching TV much recently..but I did today. I probably shouldn't have. The GOP convention is in NYC. I saw a clip of Dick Cheney giving a speech about 9-11, and Bush's committment to our safety.

I can not find the words to express what I am feeling right now. Anger doesn't quite cut it.. utter contempt and disgust? Pain and grief and disgust.. yeah.. that's close..

My husband's cousin was killed in the WTC. While I didn't know him well, I've watched his family struggle to move forward. I'm not sure I've ever felt so proud of anyone, or admired anyone so much as I have this family. He left behind an 18 month old daughter and a wife who was pregnant with his son..a son he never saw. He left behind a raw gaping chasim within this close knit family that I was fortunate enough to have married into. The pain is almost tangible at family gatherings. I thought I was past this level of pain and rage... I'm not. Not when I see this kind of explotation. Would America tolerate the explotation of a murder victim for re-elections sake? I doubt it.. yet, the scene of a mass murder is acceptable??

Oooh.. I'm such a big great hero because I just happened to be on duty when this atrocity occured and I have a nifty speechwriter!!

Get real Mr President... and please, let the grieving families move on. Stop telling us you'll make us safe.. you've made us one of the most hated countries in the world. You have ensured that our country is more of a target today than it was September 10th, 2001.

Stop tooting your patriotic horn.. You did nothing.. you are nothing..

You want to glorify the horror that New Yorkers felt? Imagine losing one of your precious children, and then a year later being told they had uncovered remains for you to bury.. and you get a foot..a fucking rotted foot. Oh..that's never happened to you? Well..nifty...it happened to my husbands family. Go fucking glorify that you sick twisted self serving bastard.

6:39 p.m. - 2004-08-29

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

panther
mytwocents
astralounge
ex-machina
unequivocal